If you had to scroll back through Slack to answer that, you're the person this article was written for. In 2026, three AI meeting assistants dominate every "best notetaker" list: Otter.ai, Fireflies.ai and Fathom. They all promise the same thing. They record the call, transcribe it, summarize it and hand you the action items before you've closed the tab.
Here's the twist most comparison posts bury: the tool with the most generous free plan is not the best-known one, and the best-known one is the only one of the three that caps how many minutes you can transcribe. One of them is facing a class-action lawsuit over how it records people. Another will sync your notes into your CRM for $0.
Below, every plan, every cap and every hidden gotcha, verified against each vendor's pricing page in October 2026. Plus a real-world case study, a persona-by-persona pick, and a 60-second verdict if you only read one section.
Fathom wins on free. Fireflies wins for teams and sales. Otter wins for live, in-the-room transcription. If you only read one table, read this one.
| Category | Winner | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Best free plan | Fathom | Unlimited recordings, transcripts and instant summaries at $0, forever |
| Best for sales and CS teams | Fireflies | Conversation intelligence, talk-time analytics, Salesforce and HubSpot sync on Business |
| Best for live transcription | Otter | Real-time captions in Zoom, Teams and Meet, plus the Otter mobile app for in-person meetings |
| Cheapest entry paid plan (annual) | Otter Pro, $8.33/user/mo | But capped at 1,200 minutes/month and 90 minutes/meeting |
| Cheapest unlimited transcription | Fathom Free, $0 | Fireflies Free is also unlimited but caps storage at 400 minutes/team |
| Most languages | Fireflies | 100+ languages; Otter lists six |
| Best for compliance (HIPAA, SSO) | Tie: Fireflies Enterprise ($39) vs. Fathom/Otter Enterprise (custom) | Fireflies is the only one with a published enterprise price |
| Biggest red flag | Otter | Pending class-action lawsuit over consent to recording |
Prices verified on each vendor's pricing page, 19 October 2026. All three change plans several times a year, so re-check before you buy.
The meeting problem got measurably worse before AI notetakers got good. Microsoft's Breaking down the infinite workday report, built on trillions of anonymized Microsoft 365 signals, found that 57% of meetings are now ad hoc calls with no calendar invite, meetings after 8 pm are up 16% year over year, and heavy collaborators are interrupted every two minutes during core hours. Half of all meetings land in the 9-11 am and 1-3 pm windows, exactly when most people do their best thinking.
You can't take good notes and think at the same time. So people have stopped trying. Forbes reports that one in five workers now let AI generate their meeting notes automatically, and 30% admit they've skipped a meeting entirely because they trusted the AI summary to cover it. The same piece cites SAP research putting the time saved at roughly 52 minutes a day.
Three things changed between 2024 and 2026 that make this the moment to pick a tool:
1. Free tiers became real. Fathom and Fireflies both offer unlimited transcription at $0. Two years ago that was unheard of.
2. The notetakers stopped being bots. Fathom now offers bot-free capture (in beta on Mac), and Fireflies can record through a Chrome extension with no visible participant.
3. The legal risk got concrete. A federal judge let wiretap and biometric-privacy claims against Otter.ai proceed in August 2026. Consent is no longer a footnote.
That last point matters for your choice more than any feature list, so we'll come back to it.
Otter is the tool most people picture when they hear "AI notetaker," and it's still the best of the three at one thing: live transcription you can read while the meeting is happening. The catch is that every plan below Business counts minutes, and the free plan cuts each conversation off at 30 minutes.
| Plan | Monthly | Annual (per user/mo) | Minutes/month | Max per meeting | What you get |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Basic | $0 | $0 | 300 | 30 min | Live transcription, AI Chat (20 queries), Zoom/Teams/Meet bot, 3 lifetime file imports |
| Pro | $16.99 | $8.33 | 1,200 | 90 min | 10 file imports/mo, Salesforce/HubSpot/Zapier, team vocabulary, max 5 billed users |
| Business | $30 | $19.99 | Unlimited | 4 hours | 3 concurrent meetings, admin analytics, custom AI workflows, max 25 billed users |
| Enterprise | Custom | Custom | Unlimited | 4 hours | SSO/SCIM (100-seat minimum), HIPAA add-on, API and webhooks, Sales Notetaker |
Source: otter.ai/pricing, October 2026.
Where Otter wins
• Real-time captions inside Zoom, Teams and Google Meet, and a mobile app that records in-person meetings. Neither competitor does the in-room case as well.
• AI Chat across all your meetings, plus a new MCP server so Claude, ChatGPT and other assistants can query your transcripts.
• Transcription in English, Spanish, French, German, Japanese and Chinese.
• The cheapest paid entry point of the three at $8.33/user/month on annual billing.
Where Otter loses
• Minute caps. 1,200 minutes on Pro is about one recorded hour per working day. Back-to-back teams blow through it.
• Workspace ceilings. Pro stops at 5 billed users, Business at 25. Past that you're on a sales call.
• Six languages versus 100+ for Fireflies.
• The lawsuit. In August 2026 a federal judge in the Northern District of California let the core wiretap, California privacy and Illinois biometric-privacy claims in In re Otter.AI Privacy Litigation proceed to discovery. The court hasn't found Otter did anything unlawful, but the allegation that the notetaker recorded non-consenting participants and that data was used for model training is now live. If your legal team is cautious, that's a conversation you'll need to have.
Best for: individuals and small teams who want live captions, record in-person meetings on their phone, and don't exceed an hour of calls a day.
Fireflies flipped the model. Every plan, including free, gets unlimited transcription. What it meters instead is storage and a separate pool of "AI credits" for premium features. That makes it the strongest pick for teams that record constantly, and the only one of the three that publishes an enterprise price.

| Plan | Monthly | Annual (per seat/mo) | Transcription | Storage | AI credits | What you get |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | $0 | Unlimited | 400 min/team | 20 | Zoom/Meet/Teams, 100+ languages, real-time notes, AskFred, API (30 calls/min) |
| Pro | $18 | $10 | Unlimited | 8,000 min/seat | 20 | Video recording, downloads, email and personal assistants, AI Skills, voice agents, all integrations |
| Business | $29 | $19 | Unlimited | Unlimited | 30 | Multi-language mode, conversation intelligence, team analytics, user groups |
| Enterprise | n/a | $39 (annual only) | Unlimited | Unlimited | 50 | Rules engine, SSO/SCIM, audit logs, HIPAA, private storage, custom retention |
Source: fireflies.ai/pricing, October 2026.
Where Fireflies wins
• No minute caps on any tier. If your team runs eight hours of calls a day, Fireflies doesn't care.
• 100+ languages with auto-detection, and a multi-language mode on Business for calls that switch mid-sentence.
• Conversation intelligence on Business: talk-time ratios, sentiment, question detection and topic trackers. That's sales-coaching territory at $19 a seat.
• Salesforce and HubSpot sync, plus the deepest integration catalogue of the three (dialers, CRMs, storage, Slack).
• SOC 2 Type II, GDPR and a published statement that customer meeting data is never used to train its models.
• A Chrome extension that records without the bot appearing as a participant.
Where Fireflies loses
• Storage is the real limit. 400 minutes per team on Free means older recordings roll off after roughly seven hours of calls.
• AI credits are a second allowance that can run out before storage does. Heavy users of AskFred or AI apps end up buying credit packs.
• Free-plan AI summaries are marked "limited." You need Pro for unlimited summaries.
• Monthly billing is almost double annual on Pro ($18 vs $10). Enterprise has no monthly option at all.
Best for: sales, customer success and recruiting teams who record every call, need CRM sync, and work across languages.
Fathom's free tier is the headline: unlimited recordings, unlimited transcription, unlimited storage and instant AI summaries, forever, with no credit card. What it holds back for paid plans is the smart stuff: advanced summary templates, AI action items, the conversational assistant and team collaboration. Every paid plan comes with a 90-day money-back guarantee, which neither competitor matches.

| Plan | Monthly | Annual (per user/mo) | Minimum seats | What you get |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | $0 | 1 | Unlimited recordings, transcripts and storage; instant summaries; clips, playlists, search; bot-free capture (beta, Mac) |
| Premium | $20 | $16 | 1 | Advanced summaries (15+ templates), AI action items, Ask Fathom assistant, custom bot name, no in-meeting banner |
| Team | $19 | $15 | 2 | Everything in Premium plus team recordings view, folders, comments and mentions, keyword alerts, global search |
| Business | $34 | $25 | 2 | CRM field sync, Deal View, coaching metrics and AI scorecards, custom summaries |
| Enterprise | Custom | Custom | Custom | SSO and SCIM, org-wide security controls, custom retention, HIPAA BAA, dedicated success manager |
Source: fathom.ai/pricing, October 2026.
Where Fathom wins
• The free plan is unlimited on the three things that matter: recordings, transcription and storage. No minute cap, no storage cap, no trial clock.
• Team Edition is cheaper per seat than Premium ($15 vs $16 annual). Fathom prices teams to win accounts.
• Bot-free capture is live in beta on Mac for Zoom, so the "Fathom Notetaker has joined" moment goes away.
• Native Claude and ChatGPT integrations, plus a public API and MCP server, so your meeting context flows into whatever LLM you already use.
• A 90-day money-back guarantee on every paid plan.
Where Fathom loses
• Advanced summaries and Ask Fathom are "limited use" on Free. Reviewers consistently report the cap lands around five advanced summaries a month.
• CRM sync is capped at three users per email domain on Free, Premium and Team. A fourth colleague signing up turns it into a Business purchase.
• Coaching metrics and scorecards only arrive on Business at $25/seat, where Fireflies gives you conversation intelligence at $19.
• No live, in-meeting captions. Fathom is a post-call tool.
• No in-person or mobile recording. If your meetings happen in a conference room, Otter is the only option here.
Best for: freelancers, consultants and small teams who want zero-cost unlimited recording today and a cheap, low-risk upgrade path when they need collaboration.
Same category, three different meters. Otter sells minutes. Fireflies sells storage and AI credits. Fathom gives the recorder away and sells the intelligence on top. The meter, not the sticker price, decides which plan you end up on.
| Otter.ai | Fireflies.ai | Fathom | |
|---|---|---|---|
| What's metered | Transcription minutes, per month and per meeting | Storage minutes per team or seat, plus a separate AI-credit pool | Advanced AI features: summary templates, action items, Ask Fathom |
| Unlimited on the free plan | Number of recordings, but only 300 minutes total | Transcription and basic summaries | Recordings, transcription and storage |
| What forces the first upgrade | A meeting that runs past 30 minutes, or 1,200 minutes in a month | Wanting to keep more than about seven hours of recordings | Wanting more than a handful of advanced summaries, or a second teammate |
| What the mid tier removes | Every minute cap (4 hours per meeting) | The storage cap; adds analytics | Nothing about capture; adds collaboration. CRM field sync waits for Business |
| Cost of guessing wrong | Transcripts truncated mid-decision | Old recordings silently roll off | A feature you wanted is greyed out |
The practical read: if you can predict your monthly minutes, Otter's meter is manageable and cheap. If you can't, pick the tool whose meter you'll never hit.
This is the difference people feel first, because it's the one the other participants see. Otter is built for the live moment. Fathom is built for after the call. Fireflies sits in between and gives you the most ways in.
| Otter.ai | Fireflies.ai | Fathom | |
|---|---|---|---|
| How it joins video calls | Visible bot participant in Zoom, Teams and Meet | Visible bot ([email protected]), or a Chrome extension with no participant | Visible bot, or bot-free capture (beta, Mac) |
| During the call | Live transcript and captions you can read as people speak | Real-time notes and live transcription | Nothing visible; everything arrives when the call ends |
| In-person meetings | Yes, iOS and Android app records from the phone mic | Mobile app for uploads and recordings | No |
| Uploading old recordings | 3 lifetime files on Free, 10/month on Pro, unlimited on Business | Any plan | Not a core use case |
| Languages | 6 | 100+ with auto-detect, multi-language mode on Business | Not published on the pricing page |
| Concurrent meetings | 1 on Free, 2 on Pro, 3 on Business | Not capped by plan | Not capped by plan |
If you want to glance at the transcript mid-call to catch a number you missed, only Otter and Fireflies do that. If you want the bot to be invisible, only Fireflies and Fathom can. If the meeting is around a table, Otter is the only real option. Those three sentences eliminate at least one tool for most readers.
The three tools diverge most on the question nobody asks until legal does: who owns the recording, what it's used for, and what happens when someone on the call didn't agree to it.
| Otter.ai | Fireflies.ai | Fathom | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Uses your meetings to train its AI | Disputed. The consolidated class action alleges it does; a federal judge let those claims proceed in August 2026. Otter denies them and nothing has been decided. | States on its pricing page that customer data is never used for AI training | Not stated on the pricing page; check its trust center before you commit |
| Compliance listed on the pricing page | TLS, AES-256, 2FA; HIPAA as an Enterprise add-on | SOC 2 Type II, GDPR; HIPAA, private storage and audit logs on Enterprise | HIPAA signed BAA, custom retention and org-wide controls on Enterprise |
| Consent tooling | Recording disclaimer email and Teams permission capture, Enterprise only | Transcript-and-summary-only mode (no audio retained), Enterprise | Custom bot name and removable in-meeting banner on paid plans |
| Data retention controls | Custom retention, Enterprise | Custom retention, Enterprise | Custom retention, Enterprise |
| Where the legal risk sits today | On the vendor, and by extension on companies that deployed it without asking participants | Lower; explicit no-training policy | Lower; no public litigation found as of October 2026 |
Two things to take from this. First, all three push the serious governance features (retention, SSO, audit logs) to Enterprise, so a small team gets roughly the same control on each. Second, the Otter case turns on consent, not on the technology. Whichever tool you choose, the court has already said that a bot sitting in the attendee list isn't permission. Say it out loud.
Same criteria, same column order, so you can scan down for the one that matters to you.
| Criteria | Otter.ai | Fireflies.ai | Fathom |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free plan transcription | 300 min/month, 30 min/meeting | Unlimited | Unlimited |
| Free plan storage | 25 most recent conversations | 400 min per team | Unlimited |
| Cheapest paid plan (annual) | $8.33/user/mo (Pro) | $10/seat/mo (Pro) | $15/user/mo (Team, 2-seat min) or $16 (Premium, solo) |
| Mid-tier plan (annual) | $19.99 (Business) | $19 (Business) | $25 (Business) |
| Enterprise price | Custom | $39/seat/mo, annual only | Custom |
| Live, in-meeting captions | Yes | Yes (real-time notes) | No |
| In-person / mobile recording | Yes (iOS, Android) | Yes (mobile app) | No |
| Bot-free capture | No | Yes (Chrome extension) | Yes (beta, Mac) |
| Languages | 6 | 100+ | Not published on pricing page |
| CRM sync (Salesforce/HubSpot) | Pro and up (user limits apply) | Pro and up | All plans, max 3 users/domain below Business |
| Conversation intelligence (talk time, sentiment) | Enterprise (Sales Notetaker) | Business | Business (coaching metrics, scorecards) |
| LLM integrations (Claude, ChatGPT, MCP) | MCP server on all plans | AskFred built in; API | Native Claude and ChatGPT integrations, API and MCP |
| HIPAA | Enterprise add-on | Enterprise | Enterprise (signed BAA) |
| SSO / SCIM | Enterprise, 100-seat minimum | Enterprise | Enterprise |
| Money-back guarantee | No | No | 90 days |
| Trains AI on your data | Disputed; subject of pending litigation | States it does not | Not stated on pricing page |
Five-person team, annual billing, mid-tier plan: Otter Business costs about $1,200 a year, Fireflies Business about $1,140, Fathom Business about $1,500. Fathom Team (without CRM field sync or coaching) drops to $900. The spread is small enough that features, not price, should decide it.
The numbers below come from a customer story Fireflies published in June 2026, so treat them as self-reported by the customer and curated by the vendor. They're still the most concrete 2026 before-and-after we found for any of the three tools.
Who: Toon Buddingh, innovation specialist at Urenbank, a Dutch early-stage investment fund. He runs eight one-to-one interviews a week with municipal innovation managers, plus a stream of UX research calls for a public-sector tool.
The problem: every interview ended with 15 minutes of handwritten notes, about two hours a week before any analysis started. Turning a batch of interviews into a development plan took weeks. And because he had to keep one eye on his 10-question script during calls, the conversations stayed polite and mechanical.
What changed: Fireflies joins every interview. He drops the script, lets the conversation go where it's useful, then uses AskFred (Fireflies' Q&A over transcripts) to pull the answers to his 10 questions afterwards. The unscripted ideas get captured too.
| Task | Before | After |
|---|---|---|
| Post-meeting notes | ~2 hours/week handwriting | ~50 min/week reading AI summaries |
| Weekly report to management | Half a day | ~30 minutes, including a human verification pass |
| UX research to development plan | Weeks | Less than a day |
Why it's instructive for your choice: none of those gains came from transcription accuracy. They came from the layer on top: searchable transcripts, conversational Q&A and the freedom to stop writing during the call. All three tools in this article now offer that layer. Fireflies gives it to you with unlimited transcription at $10/seat. Fathom gives you the recording for free but charges $16 for Ask Fathom. Otter gives you AI Chat on the free plan but caps you at 20 queries and 300 minutes. Map your own "before" column to those limits and the right plan usually picks itself.
Match yourself to a row. If two rows fit, the tie-breaker is almost always consent policy and languages.
| You are | Pick | Plan | Why |
|---|---|---|---|
| A freelancer or consultant who wants $0 forever | Fathom | Free | Unlimited recording and storage with no clock. Upgrade to Premium ($16) only when you want action items and Ask Fathom. |
| A sales or CS team that lives in HubSpot or Salesforce | Fireflies | Business, $19/seat | Unlimited transcription, CRM sync, talk-time and sentiment analytics in one tier. |
| A manager who records in-person meetings and wants live captions | Otter | Pro, $8.33 | The only one of the three with a serious mobile recorder and real-time captions. Stay under 1,200 minutes a month. |
| A team of 2 to 10 that needs shared search and comments | Fathom | Team, $15/user | Cheapest collaborative tier here, 90-day refund if it doesn't stick. |
| A multilingual or international team | Fireflies | Pro or Business | 100+ languages and a multi-language mode. Otter supports six. |
| A regulated industry (health, legal, finance) | Fireflies or Fathom | Enterprise | Both offer HIPAA. Fireflies publishes its price ($39); Fathom signs a BAA. Avoid Otter until the litigation resolves. |
| An enterprise needing SSO on fewer than 100 seats | Fireflies or Fathom | Enterprise | Otter's SSO requires a 100-user minimum. |
| Someone who already pays for Zoom, Teams or Google Workspace | None of the above, yet | Built-in | Try your platform's native AI notes first. If they're good enough, you're done. |
One rule that applies to all three: announce the recorder at the start of every call and get a verbal yes. Roughly a dozen U.S. states, including California and Illinois, require all-party consent, and a visible bot in the attendee list was explicitly rejected as consent by the court in the Otter case.
The best AI meeting assistant in 2026 isn't the one everyone's paying for. It's the one whose limits you'll never hit.
If you're one person, start with Fathom Free today and don't look back until you want action items. If you run a team that sells, supports or hires, Fireflies Business is the most complete package at $19 a seat and the only one that doesn't meter your minutes. If your meetings happen in rooms, not browsers, Otter is still the one with a real mobile recorder, with the caveat that you should read the litigation before rolling it out to a whole company.
Whatever you choose, do three things this week:
1. Record one real meeting on each free plan and compare the summaries side by side. Twenty minutes, zero dollars.
2. Add a one-line consent script to your meeting template: "I'm recording this with an AI notetaker, is everyone okay with that?"
3. Set a calendar reminder for the week before your annual renewal. All three vendors auto-renew and all three reprice several times a year.
Your next 47-minute call is probably already on the calendar. Decide now whether a human or a bot is taking the notes.
Share your thoughts about this article.
Be the first to post a comment!